New Foreign Finance and Ports Ministers in cabinet reshuffle

This is the first cabinet reshuffle of the government which took office in 2015. Foreign Minister Mangala Samaraweera took oaths as the new Finance Minister and Media Minister while former Finance Minister Ravi Karunanayake took oaths as the new Foreign Minister. Mahinda Samarasinghe was appointed as the new Ports and Shipping Minister and Arjuna Ranatunga took oaths as the new Petroleum Resources Minister. Former Media Minister Gayantha Karunatillake took oaths as the new Lands and Parliamentary Affairs Minister, Chandima Weerakody as the new Minister of Skills Development and Vocational Training, S.B. Dissanayake as the new Minister of Social Empowerment, Welfare and Kandyan Heritage and W.D.J. Seniviratne as the Minister of Labour, Trade Union relations and Sabaragamuwa Development.Former Minister Tilak Marapana took oaths as the Development Assignment Minister and Mahinda Amaraweera the State Minister of Mahaweli apart from his current portfolio as Fisheries Minister. A new Foreign Minister, Finance Minister and Ports Minister took oaths today in the cabinet reshuffle before President Maithripala Sirisena and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.Nine cabinet Ministers and a State Minister took oaths before President Maithripala Sirisena at the Presidential Secretariat in the presence of Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *